In recognition of the special contributions women writers make to our culture and society, The Rona Jaffe Foundation is giving its twenty-first annual Writers’ Awards under a program that identifies and supports women writers of exceptional talent. The emphasis is on those in the early stages of their writing careers. This unique program offers grants to writers of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry to make writing time available and provide assistance for such specific purposes as child care, research and related travel costs.

Six emerging women writers have been singled out for excellence by the Foundation and will receive awards of $30,000 each. The 2015 winners are Meehan Crist, Vanessa Hua, Ashley M. Jones, Britteney Black Rose Kapri, Amanda Rea, and Natalie Haney Tilghman.

Rona Jaffe (1931-2005) established The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards program in 1995. It is the only national literary awards program of its kind dedicated to supporting women writers exclusively. Since the program began, the Foundation has awarded over $2 million to emergent women writers.

Ms. Jaffe was the author of sixteen books, including Class Reunion, Family Secrets, The Road Taken, and The Room-Mating Season (2003). Her 1958 best-selling first novel, The Best of Everything, was reissued by Penguin in 2005.

Note: The Foundation does
not accept unsolicited
applications or nominations.






We are watching to see what risks you will be emboldened to take, to see when and how you might manage to raise the stakes on your already deeply challenging and committed work. We hope to watch as you become beacons and mentors to the new crop of writers waiting just behind you, the ones for whom your current work has already begun to serve as an invitation to the page.

                         Tracy K. Smith

                        (Full remarks here)










2015 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards Winners

(clockwise from top left): Meehan Crist, Ashley M. Jones, Amanda Rea, Natalie Haney Tilghman, Vanessa Hua, Britteney Black Rose Kapri



> Listen to 2015 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards Reading, New York University, September 18, 2015


> Video - Meet the 2015 Winners


> Download 2015 Press Release


2015 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards Winners

(l-r): Britteney Black Rose Kapri, Amanda Rea, Natalie Haney Tilghman, Vanessa Hua, Meehan Crist, Ashley M. Jones

photo by Rossa Cole






2015 Guest Speaker - Tracy K. Smith

photo by Rossa Cole