Supporting Emerging Women Writers

The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards program was established by celebrated novelist Rona Jaffe in 1995. Over the past 26 years, the Writers’ Awards have helped many women build successful writing lives by offering encouragement and financial support at a critical time.

This national literary awards program was created to identify and support emerging women writers of exceptional promise in recognition of the special contributions women artists make to our culture. The awards program acknowledges the difficulties some of the most talented among them have in finding time to write and gaining recognition. Since the program began in 1995, the Foundation has awarded grants to 164 writers for a total of more than $3 million.


Past recipients of the Writers’ Awards such as Rachel Aviv, Elif Batuman, Chelsea Bieker, Eula Biss, Lan Samantha Chang, Ebony Flowers, Vievee Francis, Rivka Galchen, Alex Marzano-Lesnevich, ZZ Packer, Helen Phillips, Kirstin Valdez Quade, Sharifa Rhodes-Pitts, Namwali Serpell, Solmaz Sharif, Tracy K. Smith, Mary Syzbist, and Tiphanie Yanique have since received wider critical recognition, including Poet Laureate of the United States, the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Guggenheim Fellowship, the Lambda Literary Award, the National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 Award, the Caine Prize for African Writing, the Rome Prize, the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, and the Whiting Writer’s Award.

The Rona Jaffe Foundation  //  Supporting Emerging Women Writers since 1995

© 2020 The Rona Jaffe Foundation  •  All Rights Reserved

site design :: karteblanchestudio